John JoubertJohn


John Joubert was born in Cape Town in 1927. Aged 19 he won a scholarship to study at the Royal Academy of Music in London and has lived and worked in England ever since. Joubert’s long composing career encompasses all genres from symphonic, operatic and chamber works to the ever-popular choral miniatures, Torches and There is no rose. The two Symphonies, three String Quartets, Oboe Concerto and Cello Concerto are recent additions to a growing catalogue of recordings from across his work list. Commissions of the last few years include An English Requiem for the 2010 Three Choirs Festival and Concerto for Cello and Chamber Orchestra for Raphael Wallfisch as part of the 2012 Cultural Olympiad. Joubert was featured composer at the new music wells 73-13 festival in June 2013 which included a new mass setting and anthem for the choir of Wells Cathedral. His new St Mark Passion receives its first performance at Wells on 20 March 2016 -- his 89th birthday.

Please note, a longer biography is also available on this site.

John has a page on Facebook.

Contact E-mail:

John Joubert at Work
© Graham Boulton

Last updated: 22 November 2016 · Design: Duncan Fielden